mangalore today
Wednesday, June 07
Genesis Engineersnamename


Supritha Harishankar installed as President of NITK Toastmasters Club

Supritha Harishankar installed as President of NITK Toastmasters Club

Mangalore Today News Network

Mangaluru, July 25, 2020:    Supritha Harishankar was installed as the new President of NITK Toastmasters Club for the year 2020-2021 during the online installation ceremony held on Friday, July 17th 2020. The installation of office bearers of the club was done online using Zoom platform in view of restrictions on public meetings due to the ongoing pandemic. ‘Soar above the clouds’ was the theme for the online ceremony.






The online facility gave the club the rare opportunity to invite Deepak Menon, the International President of Toastmasters to participate in the event as the Chief Guest. Deepak Menon is the first Indian to serve as the International President and he participated in the meet from his hometown of New Delhi. Prof. Jagannath Nayak (Dean Student’s Welfare of the National Institute of Technology Karnataka) was the Guest of Honour.

The incoming Vice President Public Relations, Sharan Venkatesh, introduced NITK Toastmaster Club’s new YouTube channel. Riya Shah introduced the Guest of Honour Prof. Jagannath Nayak and Chief Guest Deepak Menon. Prof. Nayak advised the club to support students to work on their communication skills. Yash Khivasara conducted the colloquy with Deepak Menon who interacted with the members with amazing and insightful answers to the question posed to him. In his presidential address, Deepak Menon appreciated the creativity of the club. He motivated and guided everyone to make the best use of facilities.

The new executive committee was installed by Area Director of Area F2, Beena Shetty and she was introduced by Kruthika K. Sudhama.

The officers for the year 2020-2021 are: Supritha Harishankar (President), Kartik Nayak (Vice President Education), Dwija Bagwe (Associate Vice President Education), Harsha Dsouza (Vice President Membership), Kruthika K Sudhama (Associate Vice President Membership), Sharan Venaktesh (Vice President Public Relations), Adithya Kannan ( Associate Vice President Public Relations), Rahul Hanchate (Associate Vice President Public Relations), Pranav Krishna (Secretary), Sahana Bhandari (Joint Secretary), Achintya Thantry (Joint Secretary), Rashmi Raj (Treasurer), Riya Shah (Sergeant at arms) and Tirth Savla (Immediate Past President).

Outgoing Secretary Meghana Gokhale read the annual report for 2019-2020. The outgoing President Tirth Savla shared his experience and how the club has shaped his life. In her address, the new President, Supritha Harishankar outlined her plans to take the club to new heights.  The Club Growth Director of District 121, Savitha Salian congratulated the club on its achievements.

Jokemaster Mihir Ketkar lightened the mood with his session ‘The Eye of the Tiger’.

The faculty advisor for the club, Dr. Dhishna Pannikot, encouraged the club to aim higher. The Program Quality Director of District 121, Vanitha Rangarajan set higher goals for the club.

Division Director of Division F, District 121, Molly Chaudhuri said NITK Toastmasters club is a role model for other clubs in the district. Presidents of different clubs in Mangalore, Udupi, Manipal, Sullia, Bantwal and Shivamogga expressed good wishes.

Kartik Nayak delivered the vote of thanks. The ceremony concluded with a group photo.

Sahana Bhandari and Pranav Krishna were the masters of ceremonies.

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above