mangalore today
Thursday, June 13
Genesis Engineersnamename


Congress confident of sweeping MLC elections, says Chief Whip Saleem Ahmed

Congress confident of sweeping MLC elections, says Chief Whip Saleem Ahmed

Mangalore Today News Network

Mangaluru, May 26, 2024: Congress will win all six seats in the upcoming elections for the Graduate and Teacher constituencies of the Karnataka Legislative Council, said Congress Chief Whip in the Legislative Council Saleem Ahmed.

During a press conference at the Congress Bhavan in Mallikatta on Sunday, Saleem Ahmed said that Ayanur Manjunath, the candidate for the South-West Graduate constituency, had previously served as a member of the Legislative Council, and Dr. Manjunath, the candidate for the South-West Teacher constituency, narrowly lost in the last election. Hence, he asserted that both candidates would easily secure victories this time.

salim ahmed

Saleem Ahmed highlighted that the Congress government under Chief Minister Siddaramaiah has successfully implemented the five guarantee schemes promised before the elections over the past year. These schemes have benefited youths and teachers, and many of the teachers’ demands have been met.

He also commented on the disillusionment with the BJP across the country, accusing Prime Minister Narendra Modi of fostering division in society instead of focusing on development. Ahmed stated that Modi would not become Prime Minister again and that the BJP would not achieve a majority. He predicted that the Congress party would secure a majority and lead the central government, with Rahul Gandhi becoming the next Prime Minister.

He further claimed that the Congress party would win 20 out of 28 Lok Sabha seats in Karnataka. Responding to a question, he assured that the state government is committed to implementing the old pension scheme, a major demand of teachers, and has already sent the proposal to the Finance Department for approval.

The press conference was attended by Legislative Council member and Dakshina Kannada District Congress President K. Harish Kumar, former MLA Shakuntala T. Shetty, former Mayor Shashidhar Hegde, Ashraf K., party leaders M.A. Gafoor, Shalet Pinto and Sadashiva Ullal.

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above