mangalore today
Friday, December 09
Genesis Engineersnamename


Alain Aspect, John Clauser,Anton Zeilinger win 2022 Nobel prize in Physics for works in quantum tech

Mangalore Today News Network

New Delhi, 04, 2022: Alain Aspect, John F. Clauser, and Anton Zeilinger won the 2022 Nobel Prize in Physics for experiments with entangled photons, establishing the violation of Bell inequalities and pioneering quantum information science.


Nobel Prize

The three laureates conducted groundbreaking experiments using entangled quantum states, where two particles behave like a single unit even when they are separated. Their results have cleared the way for new technology based on quantum information.

"The ineffable effects of quantum mechanics are starting to find applications. There is now a large field of research that includes quantum computers, quantum networks and secure quantum encrypted communication. One key factor in this development is how quantum mechanics allows two or more particles to exist in what is called an entangled state. What happens to one of the particles in an entangled pair determines what happens to the other particle, even if they are far apart," the Nobel Committee in their announcement said.


The announcement comes a day after the Nobel Committee announced the winner in the field of medicine kickstarting a week-long spree of announcements from across the field of science, literature, and economics. The 2022 Nobel Prize in Medicine has been given to Svante Paabo for sequencing the genome of the Neanderthal, an extinct relative of present-day humans.

Last year’s prize in Physics went jointly to Syukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann, and Giorgio Parisi. While Syukuro Manabe was recognised for demonstrating how increased levels of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere lead to increased temperatures at the surface of the Earth, Klaus Hasselmann created a model that links together weather and climate.

Meanwhile, Giorgio Parisi, a professor at Sapienza University of Rome was awarded the Nobel for discovering hidden patterns in disordered complex materials.

So far, 115 Nobel Prizes in Physics have been awarded between 1901 and 2021, of which only four are women, which includes Marie Curie in 1903, Maria Goeppert-Mayer in 1963, Donna Strickland in 2018, and Andrea Ghez in 2020.

The youngest person to win the Physics award has been Lawrence Bragg. He was 25 when he was given the 1915 Physics Nobel.

The Nobel Prize is awarded under the will ad testament of Alfred Nobel, who designated The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences for the Nobel Prize in Physics and Chemistry, Karolinska Institutet for the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, the Swedish Academy for the Nobel Prize in Literature, and a Committee of five persons to be elected by the Norwegian Parliament (Storting) for the Nobel Peace Prize.

Courtesy: India Today

Write Comment | E-Mail To a Friend | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above