mangalore today
Saturday, April 20
Genesis Engineersnamename


Congress wins 3 Rajya Sabha seats in Karnataka, BJP one after cross-voting

Mangalore Today News Network

Bengaluru, Feb 27, 2024: Congress on Tuesday won three Rajya Sabha seats in Karnataka, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) managed to secure only one seat after one of its MLAs cross-voted in favour of the ruling party in the state.



Voting for four seats from the state for the Upper House of Parliament took place on Tuesday.

Congress candidates Ajay Maken, Nasser Hussain and GC Chandrashekar emerged victorious after securing 47, 46 and 46 votes, respectively, and will now represent the party in Rajya Sabha.

From the BJP, Narayana Bandige was elected to the Upper House.

The BJP suffered a massive setback in the southern state with its MLA ST Somashekar voting for Congress candidate Ajay Maken, while another MLA Arbail Shivaram Hebbar abstaining from voting.

Speaking about the Rajya Sabha election, Karnataka Deputy Chief Minister DK Shivakumar said that the results show unity and intergrity of Congress. "I thank all the MLAs, party workers and the media. I’m very happy to inform you that all Congress candidates have won. I thank all voters, CM and party workers and the AICC President also. I would like to thank Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi and Mallikarjun Kharge," he said.

The voting process concluded with 99.5 per cent turnout, as 222 out of a total of 223 voters exercised their franchise.

Five candidates were in the fray for the four seats in the elections, including JD(S) contestant D Kupendra Reddy.

Notably, Karnataka BJP MLAs Somashekar and Hebbar were upset with the party leadership and were seen getting closer with the Congress in recent months. Somashekar represents Yashwantpur assembly constituency and Hebbar from Yellapur segment.

Soon after voting, Somashekar told reporters that he voted as per his conscience. "I went by my conscience and voted for those who worked for building schools and carry out development works in my constituency," the rebel BJP leader said.

Both legislators had switched allegiance from the Congress to the BJP along with 15 others in 2019, resulting in the collapse of the 14-month-old coalition government of the Congress and the JD(S).

Courtesy: India Today

Write Comment | E-Mail To a Friend | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above