mangalore today
Tuesday, June 28
Genesis Engineersnamename


Congress urges CM to request Lokayukta to withdraw resignation

Congress urges CM to request Lokayukta to withdraw resignation

Mangalore Today News Network

Mangalore, June 25: The district Congress organized a protest in front of the DC’s office on June 25, Friday urging authorities to convince Justice N. Santhosh Hegde to withdraw his resignation.

congress protest justice june 25 1


congress protest justice june 25 2


congress protest justice june 25 3


Senior Congress leader Vinay Kumar Sorake addressed protestors and said that the BJP Samavesha, held to celebrate the government’s two years in power, becomes meaningless with the resignation of the Lokayukta. Criticizing the BJP-led state government and citing examples of Raghupathi Bhat, Halappa, and the missing case of advocate Preetham Kumar, he said that the government’s only achievements are corruption, rape, and impropriety. Alleging that the state government tops the list of the most-corrupted state governments in the country, he urged the chief minister to request Justice Hegde to withdraw his resignation.

Former Youth Congress President Kallige Tharanath Shetty criticized the government for conducting a Sadhana Samavesha despite its failure to solve the problems of the state’s flood victims.

MLA U. T. Khader said that the Lokayukta’s resignation reflects the helplessness of honest officials in the current system. Verbally tearing the ruling state government to shreds, he said that 204 Bhagyajyothi applications have remained pending for the past six months. Cheques distributed to the needy under the Ashraya scheme have bounced, he disclosed alleging that the BJP government’s Sadhana Samavesha is only a publicity stunt. The MLA proclaimed that the people will teach the BJP a lesson.

Vice President of the District Congress Committee Ivan D’Souza welcomed the gathering. President of North Block Suresh Ballal, Former Mayor Ashraf, President of Youth Congress Praveen Alva, President of South Block Abdul Saleem, Vice President of DCC Kodijal Ibrahim, District Secretaries Harikrishna Bantwal and T. K. Sudhir, Shashidhar Hegde, Mamatha Gatty, Moideen Bawa, and many others participated in the protest.

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above