mangalore today
Friday, December 09
Genesis Engineersnamename


Asha Parekh to be conferred Dada Saheb Phalke award

Asha Parekh to be conferred Dada Saheb Phalke award

New Delhi, Sep 27, 2022: Veteran actor Asha Parekh will be honoured with the Dada Saheb Phalke award for 2020, the highest recognition in the field of Indian cinema, Union Minister for Information and Broadcasting Anurag Thakur said on Tuesday, September 27. Asha Parekh, 79, will be presented with the award during the 68th National Film Awards ceremony, to be held on Friday, September 30. The five-member Dada Saheb Phalke Award committee -- comprising Asha Bhosle, Hema Malini, Poonam Dhillon, Udit Narayan, and TS Nagabharana -- ecided on Asha Parekh’s name for the honour, Anurag Thakur told reporters in his constituency Hamirpur, Himachal Pradesh.


Asha Parekh

"They decided in the meeting that this time Asha Parekh ji will be honoured with the Dada Saheb Phalke Award, which will be presented during the National Film Awards ceremony. It is a matter of pride for the ministry to announce this prestigious award for the veteran actress," the minister said.

Asha Parekh, an eminent actor whose career spans close to five decades, started her acting career at the age of 10. Known for starring in over 95 films that include Dil Deke Dekho, Kati Patang, Teesri Manzil, Baharon Ke Sapne, Pyar Ka Mausam, and Caravan, she is considered one of the most influential actresses of all time in Hindi cinema. She started her career as a child artist with the 1952 film Aasmaan and went on to star in Bimal Roy’s Baap Beti two years later.

Asha Parekh made her debut as a leading lady in Nasir Hussain’s 1959 movie Dil Deke Dekho, in which she starred opposite Shammi Kapoor. Also a director and producer, Asha Parekh helmed the acclaimed TV drama Kora Kagaz in the late 1990s. The screen legend also served as the first female chairperson of the Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC) from 1998-2001.

She came out with her autobiography, The Hit Girl, co-written by film critic Khalid Mohamed, in 2017. She was also honoured with the Padma Shri, the fourth-highest civilian award in the country, in 1992. Last year, the Dadasaheb Phalke Award for 2019 was conferred on Rajinikanth.

Courtesy: The News Minute

Write Comment | E-Mail To a Friend | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above