mangalore today
Tuesday, May 21

Vidhana Sabha elections, 42 loose deposits in DK

Vidhana Sabha elections, 42 loose deposits in DK

Mangalore Today News Network

Mangaluru, May 18,2018 : Four candidates from the Communist Party of India (Marxist), five from the Janata Dal (Secular) and seven from the newly-formed All India Mahila Empowerment Party (MEP) are among the 42 who lost their deposits for securing fewer votes in the eight Assembly constituencies in the district.

As many as 58 candidates were in the fray in Manglauru City South, Mangaluru City North, Mangaluru, Bantwal, Moodbidri, Puttur, Belthangady and Sullia constituencies election for which was held on May 12. As per the Representation of Peoples Act, a candidate retains his deposit if he secures more than 1/6 of the total votes polled.

Prominent among the deposit losers include State president of Democratic Youth Federation of India Muneer Katipalla, who contested as a CPI(M) candidate from Mangaluru City North, and CPI (M) Mangaluru city unit secretary Sunil Kumar Bajal, who contested in Mangaluru South. R. Srikar Prabhu, who was expelled by the BJP earlier, also lost his deposit in Mangaluru City South.

Of the 1,75,457 votes polled in Manglauru North, Katipalla secured 2,472 votes and lost his deposit.

The others who lost deposits here were P.M. Ahmed from the MEP and Suresh B. Saliyan from the Akhil Bharath Hindu Mahasabha.

Bajal secured 2,329 votes out of the 1,61,971 polled in Mangaluru South, while  Prabhu polled 861 votes.

Rathnakar Suvarna of the JD (S), Mohammed Iqbal of the MEP, Dharmendra, Akhil Bharat Hindu Mahasabha and independent candidate Madan M.C. also lost deposits here.

Of the four candidates from Belthangady constituency, Sumathi S. Hegde from the Janata Dal(S), Jagannatha M. from the MEP and two independents lost their deposits. Among the five candidates from Moodbidri, K. Yadava Shetty of the CPI (M), Jeevan Krishna Shetty of the Janata Dal(S) and Abdul Rehiman from the MEP lost their deposits.

Nithin Kuthar of the CPI(M), K. Ashraf of the Janata Dal(S) and Usman from the MEP lost their deposits in Mangaluru (Ullal), while Shameer of the MEP, Balakrishna Poojary P. of the Lok Awaz Dal and independent Ibrahim Kailar lost their deposits in Bantwal.

I.C. Kailas Gowda from the Janata Dal(S) and Abdul Majeed Kolpe from Janata Dal(United) were among the nine candidates who lost their deposits in Puttur, while Raghu of the Bahujan Samaj Party and three independents lost their deposits in Sullia.

Write Comment     |     E-Mail To a Friend     |     Facebook     |     Twitter     |     Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above