mangalore today
Monday, July 06


BJP triumphs with full force in coastal region in ULB polls

BJP triumphs with full force in coastal region in ULB polls

Mangalore Today News Network

Mangaluru, Sep 04, 2018: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)  continued its sway in its stronghold, coastal Karnataka, by winning 193 seats out of 386 seats of different urban local bodies that went to polls on August 31.



The Congress came second by winning 145 seats, followed by 12 seats by the Janata Dal (Secular), 11 seats by the Social Democratic Party of India (SDPI) and 25 independents in Dakshina Kannada, Udupi and Uttara Kannada districts.

The BJP got majority in Puttur City Municipal Council (CMC) in DK by winning 25 out of 31 seats; Udupi CMC by winning 31 out of 35 seats and Sirsi in UK by winning 17 out of 31 seats.

Among the TMCs, the BJP got a clear majority in Kundapura in Udupi district by winning 14 out of 23 seats and Kumta in UK by winning 16 out of 23 seats. The party also got a clear majority in Saligrama Town Panchayat in Udupi district by winning 10 out of 16 seats.

The Congress was in a comfortable position in Dandeli CMC by winning 16 out of 31 seats; Haliyal TMC by winning 14 out of 23 seats and Yellapura TP by winning 12 out of 19 seats.

Voters gave a fractured verdict in the remaining ULBs — Ullal and Karwar CMCs and Bantwal, Karkala and Ankola TMCs — in these three districts.

Ullal CMC, the home turf of Dakshina Kannada district in-charge Minister U.T. Khader (Congress), got 13 Congress councillors, six BJP and SDPI councillors, 4 JD (S) councillors and two independents. Voters elected 11 BJP members, 12 Congress and 4 SDPI members to Bantwal TMC.

Karkala TMC in Udupi district that has BJP’s V. Sunil Kumar as MLA got 11 Congress and BJP councillors and an independent councillor, who is said to be a BJP rebel.

In Uttara Kannada, 11 councillors from BJP and Congress got elected to Karwar CMC besides 4 JD (S) and 5 independent councillors whereas Ankola TMC got 10 Congress, 8 BJP and 5 independent councillors elected.

Of the 89 seats in Dakshina Kannada, BJP won 42, Congress 30, JD (S) 4, SPDI 11 and Independents 2; of the 97 in Udupi, BJP won 66, Congress 28 and Independents 3 and of the 200 seats in Uttara Kannada, BJP won 85, Congress 87, JD (S) 8 and Independents 20.

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above