mangalore today
Saturday, June 06


Senior Journalist Manohar Prasad to be feted on Sunday

Senior Journalist Manohar Prasad to be feted on Sunday

Mangalore Today News Network

Mangaluru, April 24, 2015: Senior journalist and chief of Mangalore news bureau of Udayavani Kannada daily will be accorded a ceremonial felicitation to mark the completion of thirty years of service to the field of journalism. The felicitation will take place during ‘Manobhinandana’ a programme organized by Media Alumni Association of Mangalagangothri (MAAM) on Sunday, 26th April at T. V. Raman Pai Convention Centre, Kodialbail, Mangalore.


Manohar Prasad

The felicitation ceremony is scheduled for 10:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m., to be followed by a symposium on the topic “Contribution of Mangalore University to the Development of the Region” upto 1:00 p.m. MAAM is an old student’s body of former journalism students of Mangalore University and this function is being organized to commemorate the Silver Jubilee of the Department of Journalism of Mangalore.

The felicitation ceremony will be graced by a galaxy of dignitaries including the district in-charge minister B. Ramanath Rai; state health minister U. T. Khadar, the local MP Nalin Kumar Kateel; SCDCC Bank Chairman M. N. Rajendra Kumar; Mangalore University Vice Chancellor Prof. K. Bairappa and social worker Sudhakar Pejavar. Dr. Sandhya Pai, the Managing Editor of ‘Taranga’ Kannada weekly will release the commemorative souvenir during the function to be presided over by Venu Sharma, the president of MAAM.

Prominent personalities who will participate in the felicitation function include A. Sadananda Shetty, Chairmen of Shree Devi Education Trust, Mangalore; Jagannath Shetty Bala, president of D.K. Working Journalist’s Union;  Ajit Rai Malady, president of Buntara Yane Nadavara Mathru Sangha; S. Praveep Kumar Kalkura, president of DK Zilla Kannad Sahitya Parishat; Dr. Na Damodar Shetty, theatre director; CA S. S. Kamath, president, Canara High School Association; Ashok Shet, entrepreneur and Pramila Rao, lecturer, Canara First Grade College, Mangalore.

In the subsequent symposium the speakers are: Prof. P. S. Yedapadithaya, Registrar, Mangalore University; Prof. K. Chinnappa Gowda, Head of the Department of Kannada, Mangalore University; Prof. Shripathy Tantri, Founder Member, Mangalore University and Prof. A. M. Narahari, Registrar, St. Aloysius College, Mangalore. Prof. B. M. Hegde, former Vice Chancellor, Manipal University will preside over the symposium deliberations and Mangalore University Vice Chancellor Prof. K. Bairappa will deliver the concluding remarks.

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above