mangalore today
Wednesday, June 03


Red Cross Office Bearer Elections: Results Announced

Red Cross Office Bearer Elections: Results Announced

Mangalore Today News Network

Mangaluru, February 24, 2019: Indian Red Cross Society, Dakshina Kannada Chapter, Mangalore has announced the results of the election to its Managing Committee, which was held on Sunday, 24 February. Total of 16 candidates had been in the fray in the hotly contested election. Out of a total of 1900 members, 846 Red Cross members had cast their votes.

The winning candidates are: Archibald Menezes, B. Nityanand Shetty, Yatish Baikampady, Eugene Rent, B. Raveendra Shetty, Ravindranath K., Shantharam Shetty, Dr. U. V. Shenoy, Sacheth Suvarna and Dr. Satish Kumar Bhandary.

Redcross 2019 team

The election took place in the undercurrent of rivalry between a group led by Shantharam Shetty and another group led by Dr Manjunath S. Revankar. Shantharam Shetty is a Rotary Club leader and chartered accountant by profession. He is the incumbent Chairman of the branch. His group has won a landslide victory against the six candidates of Revankar faction comprising Dr Manjunath S. Revankar, Abdul Khadar S., Ismael Shafi H., Mohammad Ilyas, B. Vishnumoorthy Bhat and Sunil Stevan Vas. All of them scored nominal votes.

Among the winning candidates Archibald Menezes was a Director of MCC Bank, B. Nityanand Shetty is into shipping business and he is the younger brother of ex-minister B. Nagaraj Shetty, Yatish Baikampady is the CEO of Panambur Beach Development Project, Eugene Rent is a builder and founder of Eden Club, B. Raveendra Shetty is a journalist working for Vijaya Karnataka, Ravindranath K. is a retired employee of Vijaya Bank, Dr. U. V. Shenoy is a paediatrician and trustee of Seva Bharathi, Sacheth Suvarna is a professor at Government PU College, Kavoor and Dr. Satish Kumar Bhandary is the Vice Chancellor of Nitte University.

The new team is elected for a term of three years from 2018-19 to 2020-21. The election was peaceful and 19 votes were deemed invalid, as per the media release by S. A. Prabhakara Sharma, Honorary Secretary of the Society.

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above