mangalore today
Monday, August 26


Rajyotsava celebrations in Udupi

Rajyotsava celebrations in Udupi

Mangalore Today News Network

Udupi, Nov 2, 2016: Cultural programmes like ’Raitha Geethe’, Karnataka Itihasadalli’, ’Huttidare Kannada Nadalli Huttabeaku’, ’Kannadanadina Karavali’ and ’Kelisuttha Kallu Yennutha’ were organised by schoolchildren on the occasion. The Labour Department, Nirmiti Kendra and Forest Department won the first, second and third places respectively for the cultural tableaux they displayed.

Rajyotsava in udupi 1



Rajyotsava in udupi 2



Rajyotsava in udupi 3



Rajyotsava in udupi 4



Udupi District In-charge Minister Pramod Madhwaraj, who spoke after receiving the guard of honour at Mahatma Gandhi district grounds at Beedanagudde on Tuesday, said Annabhagya, a landmark programme of the government to empower the lower classes, has reached out to the poor on massive scale. In Udupi district, 1,61,889 Anthyodaya and 755514 BPL cardholders are beneficiaries under Annabhagya scheme.

Referring to the effective implementation of the housing schemes, the minister said 3,632 beneficiaries are offered the benefits under Basava Vasati Yojana in last three years.

The district has been conferred the status of ’open defecation free’, the minister, adding that no stone is left unturned in fulfilling the objectives of the Swaccha Bharat Mission. A help line is started under the Mission, he said.  Explaining the promotional programmes supporting sports activities in the district, the minister said, measures are taken to offer infrastructural facilities for athletes participating in middle and long distance run, jumps and throws.

Rajyotsava Awards :  Twenty seven persons and three organisations excelling in various fields received the district Rajyotsava awards.  The awardees are: Gururaj Sanil (social work, snake expert), Sathish Salian (social work), Rathnakar Samanth (social work), K Ramesh Shetty (social work), B Mohanchandra Kalavarkar (social work), M Sanjeevanna (Yoga education), Thalluru Shivaram Shetty (social work), Krishnamurthy Manja (social work), Dr Sunitha Shetty (social work), B Jayakara Shetty (social work), L M Ibrahim (social work), K Rathnakar Kini (literature), Madhavi Bhandary (literature), John D’Souza (journalism), Uday Kumar Y (sports), Nityananda Kemmannu (sports), Ravikumar Kadekar (play artiste), Raju B Thonse (Tulu play artiste), Ramanand Nayak (play), Yogesh Shiroor (theatre artiste), K Omsri Sridhar Nayak (music), Vishnu Bhajan Mandali (music-devotional songs), Udaya Serigar (Saxophone artiste), K S Vishnumurthy Basri (Yakshagana), Brahmavara Sports Club (sports), Kooradi Nagaraj Acharya (art, sculpture), Chikku Poojary (Yakshagana), Raghavendra Nayak (agriculture), B Devaraj and B C Rao Shivapura (religious activities).


Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above