mangalore today
Saturday, June 06


Polling ends with 72.13% turnout in Karnataka Assembly elections

Polling ends with 72.13% turnout in Karnataka Assembly elections

Mangalore Today News Network

New Delhi, May 12, 2018: After a high-voltage campaign that stretched over a month, Karnataka went to the polls on Saturday to elect 222 legislators. A total of 72.13% of the electorate exercised their franchise. The 2013 election saw a turnout of 71.45%.

Voting was held in 222 out of the 224 seats, with polling in two constituencies put off — in Jayanagar due to the death of a candidate and in Rajarajeshwari Nagar due to alleged electoral malpractice. Over 2,622 candidates are in the fray, including 217 women. Counting will take place on May 15. A party must cross the halfway mark of 112 to wrest power.

Kokkada poling

In what is projected as a tight race, voting was held in 222 out of 224 seats in a three-cornered contest among the ruling Congress, the BJP and former Prime Minister H.D. Deve Gowda’s JD(S).

Over 2,600 candidates are in the fray — more than 2400 men and and over 200 women. There are a total of 5,06,90,538, voters of whom 2,56,75,579 male voters, 2,50,09,904 female and 5,055 transgender voters.

Counting of votes will take place on May 15.

Faulty electronic voting machines (EVMs), VVPAT-mismatch, technical glitches disrupted polling in several parts of the State, but that didn’t deter voters from casting their ballot. Despite Friday night rains, voters turned out in large numbers.

According to the Election Commission’s latest update, the highest percentage of polling was recorded in Chikkaballapur and Ramanagaram districts, with over 80%, while the constituencies in the neighbouring Bengaluru recorded the lowest, in the range of 49-51%.

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above