mangalore today
Wednesday, June 03


MU Foundation Day: 6 achievers to be honoured

MU Foundation Day: 6 achievers to be honoured

Mangalore Today News Network

Mangaluru, Sep 12, 2019: Six achievers from different walks of life, hailing from within the jurisdiction of Mangalore University, will be felicitated on the occasion of 40th Foundation Day celebrations of Mangalore University at Mangala Auditorium in Mangalagangothri, September 12, Thursday -today.

Vice-Chancellor Prof P S Yadapadithaya told media that an expert committee had shortlisted the names and six were selected, he added.

Citation, memento :  The six achievers to be felicitated include, Chidvilas from Kodagu, Dr Gopal Mugeraya, Dr Ganesh Amin Sankamar, Abhaya Simha, P K Devaraya and Dr Shashikala Gurupura. They will be honoured with a citation and a memento.

Chidvilas is the editor of Shakthi, a daily, in Kodagu.  Dr Gopal Mugeraya hails from Udupi and is the director of National Institute of Technology, Goa.  Dr Ganesh Amin Sankamar is a Kannada professor at St Aloysius College and is a folklore expert, who has vast knowledge on Paddana and other folklores of the Tulunadu.

Abhaya Simha is a Kannada-Tulu film director and screenplay writer. He did his graduation from St Aloysius College, Mangaluru, and his debut venture ‘Gubbachchigalu’ had won the National Award for the best children’s film.  In 2017, he made ‘Paddayi’ in Tulu which won 65th National award for Best Feature Film in Tulu.

B K Devaraya is a farmer from Mittabagilu in Belthangady taluk and is known for preserving over 170 varieties of paddy.  The varieties he preserves are grown over a period of more than three decades.

Dr Shashikala Gurpura, who has served as the director of Symbiosis International University, hails from Gurupura village in Mangaluru.

Minister for Fisheries, Ports and Inland Transport Kota Srinivas Poojary will inaugurate the programme.   Central University of Karnataka Chancellor  Prof N R Shetty will deliver the Foundation Day lecture.   Former MLC and Chancellor of Central University of Orissa Prof P V Krishna Bhat will be guest of honour.

Former vice-chancellors of Mangalore University Prof B Hanumaiah and Prof K Byrappa will be present  on the occasion, said Prof Yadapadithaya VC.

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above