mangalore today
Wednesday, August 05
Abish Buildersnamename


Konkani sahitya academy awards 2015 announced

Konkani sahitya academy awards 2015 announced

Mangalore Today News Network

Mangaluru, Feb 28, 2016: The Karnataka Konkani Sahitya Academy will confer its 2015 awards on nine persons at Konkani Utsav to be held in Bhatkal on March 6, 2016. Chief Minister Siddaramaiah will present the awards.

The winners are: honorary awards for Ramachandra M Shet (literature), Kasargod Chinna (art) and Alu Peelu Marathi (folklore); book awards to Om Ganesh Uppunda (for the translation of ’Bayila Bhade Bayila’), Rony Arun (for the research study book ’Tho’kanatullo Zuzari’) and Fr Denis Castelino (for the collection of Konkani articles titled ’Dalit’); youth awards to Rajaram Prabhu (music), Nasrullah Askeri (sports) and Anjali Wilson Vaz (dance).


Konkani sahitya academy awards

S M Khalil, Pradeep G Pai and George Fernandes will be honoured on the occasion for their achievements in their respective fields, said a release.

Umashree, minister for Kannada and culture will be the chief guest, R V Deshpande, minister for higher education and tourism will be the guest of honour, Shankutala T Shetty parliamentary secretary, Kannada and culture and MP Ananth Kumar Hegde will be the special invitees.

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Comments on this Article
Kamalaksh, Pune Sun, February-28-2016, 11:01

Congrats. The contribution to the field of art and literature in incrediblre. Wish you all the best

Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above