mangalore today
Wednesday, May 22


Kaup TMC polls: Congress bags 12 seats, BJP wins in 11

Kaup TMC polls: Congress bags 12 seats, BJP wins in 11

Mangalore Today News Network

Udupi, April 27, 2016 :  The Congress has won in 12  wards  while the BJP managed to win in 11 wards in the elections to the 23 wards of the new Kaup  Town Municipal Council  held on April 24. Counting was held on April 27, Wednesday morning.

TMC polls

If both the Congress and the BJP which had a close fight  had won in 11 wards, the last ward  went to the Congress  with its candidate Leela defeating Ratna of BJP in the Ahmed Mohalla ward.

A total of 75 per cent voter turnout was reported in the elections  and 58  candidates were in the fray including  23 each from the BJP and Congress, five candidates from the JD(S),  four from SDPI and three independent candidates.

The victorious Congress candidates are Usman from Koppalangady,  Sowmya  from Kotalkatte,  Suresh Devadiga from Kalya,  Ashwini from Beedu Badi, Mohammad Imran from Badagaguttu,  Malini from Chandrashale,  Shantalatha from Garadi ward,  Shabu Saheb from Kudtimar,  Abdul Hameed from Mangalapete, Sulochana and Vijayalakshmi.

The  BJP candidates who have won the elections are  Ram Y Shetty from Kaipunjal,  Ramesh Hegde from Dandateertha,  Gulabi from Bharat Nagar, Arun Shetty from Kombugudde wards, Vijay Karkera from Polipu, Mohini from Gujji ward, Anil from Kaup Pete,  Mamatha from Light House ward, Shambhavi, Kiran and Sudha Ramesh.

The counting of votes was held under the supervision of the local Tahsildar.

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Comments on this Article
Benny Pinto, Mangalore Wed, April-27-2016, 2:02
The candidates participate in elections and seek public votes but never care to act on the problems after winning their votes
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above