mangalore today
Tuesday, August 11
Abish Buildersnamename


Kasaragod to be a stop for Rajdhani Express

Kasaragod to be a stop for Rajdhani Express

Mangalore Today News Network

Kasaragod, Jan 25, 2019:  A stop has been granted for the Rajdhani Express train from Thiruvananthapuram to New Delhi at Kasaragod.  Accordingly, from Feb 1,  Rajdhani Express train departing from Thiruvananthapuram will stop for the first time at Kasaragod at 4.50 am in the morning.



The union minister for railways Piyush Goyal informed Kasaragod MP P Karunakaran on the granting of a stop at Kasaragod for Rajdhani Express train. But at the same time, the central railway department has not yet announced it officially.

During the inauguration of the diamond celebrations of Kasaragod Sub-Court, Kerala governor P Sadashivam has given assurances that he would put pressure on the central government and railway department to provide a stop for Rajdhani Express at Kasaragod, which is the districts centre.

He had expressed surprise at the railways department’s stand of not providing a stop for Rajdhani Express at Kasaragod when stops have been provided for the train at other district centres. This move by the railway department to give a stop for Rajdhani Express at Kasaragod finally comes as a victory for all the fights and as an excitement to the people. Rajdhani Express will be departing from Thiruvananthapuram to New Delhi on every Tuesday, Thursday and Friday. On these days, the train will commence its journey from Thiruvananthapuram Central Railway Station in the evening at 7:15 pm, reach the next day at 4:30 am in the morning at Kasaragod railway station, then reach Mangaluru Junction at 5:30 am and continue onwards on its journey to New Delhi.

On its return journey, the Rajdhani Express will commence its journey towards Thiruvananthapuram from the Hazrat Nizamuddin Railway Station at New Delhi on Tuesday, Wednesday and Sunday at 10:55 am in the morning, reach Mangaluru the next day in the evening at 5:50 pm, reach Kasaragod at 7 pm in the evening and then continue its journey onward towards Thiruvananthapuram.

Recently, MP P Karunakaran had observed a fasting satyagraha demanding that a stop be provided for Rajdhani Express at Kasaragod station. Keeping this very same demand on the forefront, Congress, BJP and Muslim parties too have fought for it several times. Several requests have been submitted to the railways minister and railway department regarding this issue. Protest in the form of stopping trains has also been conducted.

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above