mangalore today
Monday, June 24


Kambala: Season begin from Sunday November 29 at Bangadi Kolli in Belthangadi

Kambala: Season begin from Sunday November 29 at Bangadi Kolli in Belthangadi

Mangaluru, Novemebr 28,  2015: The Kambala calendar for 2015-16 charts off at Bangadi Kolli in Belthangady talukof Dakshina Kannada district on November 29 , 2015 Sunday. The venue will be on the banks of river Netravati. It will be the 19th Soorya-Chandra Jodukare Kambala.

Kambala, unique wet filed buffalo race events of this season will come to end on 19 March 2016 Surathkal Madhava Nagara – Rama Lakhshmana Kambala near Mangalore. 


kambala race-m...

Bangadi Kambala is being organized with the support of Shri Dharmasthala rural development programme and other organizations. Ujire Shri Janardana temple trustee Vijaya Raghav Paduvetnaya will inaugurate the event with MLA Vasant Bangera in the chair. ZP president Asha Thimmappa, Dr B Yashovarma and others will be present.

Since the last two decades nearly 18 kambalas are held under the banner of Kambala Samithi (Kambala Association). As of now, more than 45 he-buffalo races are held annually in Coastal Karnataka.

The ’track’ used for Kambala is a paddy field filled with slush and mud. The contest generally takes place between two pairs of buffaloes, each pair raced in wet rice fields, controlled by a whip-lashing farmer. The winning pair of buffaloes was rewarded with gold coins, silver coins are given.

Kambala today has become an organised rural sport, with elobarate planning and timetable for Kambala at different places.The "Kambala Committee" is formed and it usually arranges Kambala in several categories like Kane Halage, Hagga Hiriya, Hagga Kiriya, Halage, Adda Halage etc.
Innovations are made in conducting kambala race and in some places day and night races are arranged under floodlights. Kambala is now a weekend affair starting from Saturday to conclude on Sunday night.

This 2015-16 seasons Kambala dates and places are as follows (Please note dates are subject to change due to unavoidable circumstances):

05-Dec-2015, Saturday – Venoor- Permude – Surya Chandra
12-Dec-2015, Saturday – Baradi Beedu – Surya Chandra
20-Dec-2015, Sunday – Mulki seeme – Moodu Padu
26-Dec-2015,        Saturday – Hokkaadigoli
02-Jan-2016, Saturday – Ikala Bava – Kanthabaare Budabaare
09-Jan-2016, Saturday – Miyaru – Lava Kusha
16-Jan-2016, Saturday – Adve-Nandikoor – Koti Chennaya
23-Jan-2016, Saturday – Moodubidire – Koti Chennaya
30-Jan-2016, Saturday – Katapadi Beedu – Moodu Padu
06-Feb-2016, Saturday – Thalapday Panjala – Soorya Chandra
06-Feb-2016, Saturday – Panapila Nandottu – Jaya Vijaya
13-Feb-2016, Saturday – Jappina Mogaru – Jaya Vijaya
20-Feb-2016, Saturday – Vamanjoor Thiruvailu – Sankupoonja Devupoonja
27-Feb-2016, Saturday – Kakkepadavu – Sathya Dharma
06-Mar-2016, Sunday – Puttur – Koti Chennaya
12-Mar-2016, Saturday – Uppinangadi – Vijaya Vikrama
19-Mar-2016, Saturday – Surathkal Madhava Nagara – Rama Lakhshmana

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above