mangalore today
Sunday, July 21


It’s a clean sweep for BJP in Udupi district

It’s a clean sweep for BJP in Udupi district

Mangalore Today News Network

Udupi, Many 15, 2018: It has been a clean sweep for the BJP in Udupi district with the party winning all five seats here with a significant margin. In Udupi constituency Raghupathi Bhat of the BJP has defeated  Pramod Madhwaraj.  Raghupathi  bagged 84,291  votes  while Pramod got  72,503 votes.

Udupi district winners

The Winners: Raghupathi Bhat, Sunil Kumar, Lalaji Mendon, Halady Srinivas Shetty and Sukumar Shetty

In Kaup, Lalaji Mendon of the BJP (48,014) defeated Vinay Kumar Sorake of the Congress. Sorake got 39,038 votes as against the 48,014 votes of the winning candidate. Anupama Shenoy who contested from her BJC got just 880 votes.

In Kundapur, it was an expected win for BJP’s Halady Srinivas Shetty who won by a huge margin. He secured 98,444 votes, while Rakesh Malli of Congress got 44,771 votes.

In Karkala too it was a huge victory for Sunil Kumar of BJP who garnered 91,245 votes  while Gopal Bhandary of Congress got 48,679 votes.

In Byndoor, it was a win for BJP’s Sukumar Shetty who got 67,392 votes. Gopal Poojary of Congress got 53,185 votes.

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above