mangalore today
Friday, April 03


DK :8 Assembly constituencies have 58 contestants

DK :8 Assembly constituencies have 58 contestants

Mangalore Today News Network

Mangaluru, Apr 28, 2018: The stage is set for the Assembly elections on May 12 with 58 candidates contesting from the eight Assembly constituencies in Dakshina Kannada. There are total of 17,11,848 voters in the district.



Talking to reporters here on April 27,  Friday, DK DC and District Electoral Officer Sasikanth Senthil S. said that a maximum of 11 candidates each are contesting from Manglauru City South and Puttur Assembly constituencies.

As many as seven candidates each are contesting from Moodbidri and Mangaluru City North constituencies, respectively, while six each are contesting from Belthangady and Sullia constituencies. Five candidates each are contesting from Mangaluru and Bantwal Assembly constituencies.

DK DC  Senthil said that of the 17,11,848 lakh voters, 8,41,073 are men, 8,70,675 women and 100 transgenders. A maximum of 2.4 lakh voters are in Manglauru City South, followed by 2.34 lakh in Manglauru City North, 2.18 lakh in Belthangady, 2.21 lakh in Bantwal, 2.01 lakh in Puttur, 2 lakh in Moodbidri, 1.95 lakh in Mangaluru and 1.98 lakh in Sullia Assembly constituencies. There are 380 service voters for whom postal ballots are being issued.

DK DC  Senthil said that the process was on to issue Electoral Photo Identity Cards to all newly registered voters. “We have made arrangements to deliver the cards to all voters. While the cards have been delivered to a majority of the newly registered voters, arrangements have been made to reach the cards to a few remaining voters,” he said.

DK DC  Senthil said that there were a total of 1,858 polling stations of which 517 were critical ones, he said. There were adequate number of polling personnel who have undergone one round of training. The EVMs and VVPATs for all the polling stations have been kept in the strong rooms of each Assembly constituency.

Of the 142 complaints received at the Complaint Monitoring System, a majority of them related to defacement of public property followed by model code of conduct violation at meetings of political parties. The District Election Commission teams have seized five vehicles and recovered Rs. 11.84 lakh in cash that was unaccounted for.

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above