mangalore today
Sunday, February 23


Basti Vaman Shenoy chosen for Asmitai Pratisthan awards

Basti Vaman Shenoy chosen for Asmitai Pratisthan awards

Mangalore Today News Network/ Rons Bantwal

Goa, Jun 11, 2016: Asmitai Pratisthan’s Prof Kashinath Mahale Puraskar (award) for the year 2015 has been declared to veteran Konkani activist Basti Vaman Shenoy. The Yuva Asmitay Award has been declared to actress and dramatist Suchita Narvenkar.

Basti vaman Sh...These awards constituted for the service in Konkani field will be presented at a special function on June 17. The function will be held at Multipurpose Hall, Sanskruti Bhavan, Patto Panaji at 5.00pm. Forest and panchayat minister, Rajendra Arlekar will be the chief guest for the occasion. Veteran Konkani writer Suresh Gundu Amonkar shall be the guest of honour.

The function shall be preceded by a special interaction with the awardees where students and people at large will get an opportunity to acquaint themselves about the work and journey of both the award winners.

Basti Vaman Shenoy

Basti Vaman Shenoy is the the founder president ‘Konkani Bhas Ani Samskriti Pratistan’ (World Konkani Centre) established in Mangaluru. He has been the past president, Karnataka Konkani Sahitya Academy, Mangaluru for two terms. His struggle in Karnataka led to the establishment of Konkani Academy in Karnataka and he has also played an important role in the fight for inclusion of Konkani in the 8th schedule of the Constitution.

He has been the president of All India Konkani Parishad for the year 2004-2006. He is also the member, Supreme Governing Body of Academy of General Education, Manipal. He has been the past president, Konkani Bhasha Mandal, Karnataka.

He received the first International special significant award from Rotary International in 1974, for organising Mass Rotary free eye operation camps, dental camps in and around Bantwal. He was the chief convener of the First World Konkani Convention held at Mangaluru in 1995.

He was also the chief convener of the First Vishwa Saraswat Sammelan held at Mangaluru in 1999. He is the recipient of the title ’Vishwa Konkani Sardar’ and ’Vishwa Saraswat Sardar’. He won the Karnataka ` Rajyotsava Award-2010’ from government of Karnataka for Konkani literature and other activities and the Tulu Koota, Kuwait-Decennial Celebrations Award-2010.

He has published several books and has written widely for several dailies and magazines.

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above