mangalore today
Friday, June 05


3 achievers chosen for Beary Academy Honorary Awards

3 achievers chosen for Beary Academy Honorary Awards

Mangalore Today News Network

Mangaluru, Dec 16, 2014 : Three outstanding achievers in Beary language will be conferred the annual Honorary Awards of the Karnataka Beary Sahitya Academy during the Beary Language Conference to be held at Chikkamagaluru on January 10, 2015.

Beary Academy 1


Beary Academy award

Informing this to reporters, B.A. Mohammad Haneef, President of the Academy said the Awards will be conferred on Prof. B.M Ichlangodu for  Beary Language Research, Y Mohammad Beary Edapadavu  for his contributions in the field of education and B.A. Shamshuddin Madikeri for  his achievements in  the field of literature.

The Awards carry a cash prize of Rs 10,000 each  apart from citation, Haneef informed. The Conference at Vokkaligara Sabha Bhavan, Chikkamagaluru will be held with the co-operation of  Chikkamagaluru District Beary Federation.

 Highlighting the achievements of the three awardees, Haneef informed that Prof. Ichlangodu has   translated the Quran and also authored a book on Muslims of Tulunadu. He said Mohammad Beary, a retired banker  is the founder of Ideal English Medium School, Edapadavu and also the President of the Committee of the Families of Mangaluru Air Crash Victims. Another awardee Shamshuddin  is a journalist who has also authored several works in Beary language.

Apart from the three, the Academy will also honour nine outstanding personalities during the conference, Haneef said. Those to be felicitated are Mohammad Iqbal (singing), Umar Farooq, Mariam Ismail, A.M. Sridharan, Ismail Azad (Literature),  Moidin Kunhi (Medicine), Mohammad (defence), BH Noor Mohammad and Azala Ayub (Social Service).

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above