mangalore today
Monday, September 16


Phase 2 Voting Begins for Bangalore South, Mysore, Mandya, Tumkur and 10 Other Constituencies

Phase 2 Voting Begins for Bangalore South, Mysore, Mandya, Tumkur and 10 Other Constituencies

Mangalore Today News Network

Bengaluru, Apr 18, 2019 : Polling in 14 out of 28 constituencies of Karnataka began at 7 am in the second phase of the seven-phased Lok Sabha Elections 2019. The voting will end at 5 PM while the counting of votes will be held on May 23. Union Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman cast her vote at polling booth 54 in Jayanagar of Bangalore South Parliamentary constituency on Thursday. Meanwhile, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Karnataka Yuva Morcha General Secretary Tejasvi Surya, who has been fielded from the Bangalore South Lok Sabha constituency, also cast his vote.  Karnataka CM HD Kumaraswamy, his wife Anitha Kumaraswamy and their son & JD(S) candidate from Mandya, Nikhil, also cast their votes at a polling station in Ramanagara, Yahoo reported.



The 14 consistencies that are scheduled to in the first phase are Udupi-Chikmagalur, Hassan, Dakshina Kannada, Chitradurga (SC), Tumkur, Mandya, Mysore, Chamarajnagar (SC), Bangalore Rural, Bangalore North, Bangalore Central, Bangalore South, Chikkaballapur and Kolar (SC). The voting in the remaining 14 seats will be held on April 23, in the third phase. Karnataka Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Constituency Wise Dates Of Voting And Results For Karnataka General Elections.

In the first phase, the key constituencies are all the three seats in Bangalore South, Mandya, Hassan and Tumkur. In the run up to Lok Sabha Elections 2019, as many as 241 candidates, including 15 women and 133 Independents are in the fray for 14 seats in the southern state.

In Karnataka, Congress is contesting in 21 seats and JD-S in seven in both phases as part of pre-poll tie-up and seat-sharing arrangement. In the first phase, the Congress is in 10 seats, including three reserved for the SCs, and the JD-S in four seats. In the second phase, the Congress is in 11 seats and the JD-S in three. Lok Sabha Elections 2019 Schedule: Voting In 7 Phases From April 11 to May 19, Counting And Results On May 23; Check All Dates For General Elections.

According to reports, the BJP is contesting in 27 seats in the two phases- 13 in the first phase and is supporting multilingual south Indian actress Sumalatha Ambareesh, contesting as an Independent in Mandya. In the general elections held in 2014, of the 14 seats, the BJP and the Congress had won six each and JD-S two.

Write Comment | E-Mail To a Friend | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above