mangalore today

Six selected selected for Beary Academy awards

Mangalore Today News Network

Mangaluru, Mar 08, 2018: The Karnataka Beary Sahitya Academy in the city  will present its honorary awards (2016) to veteran writer Fakir Muhammed Katpadi (literature and research), Aboobakar Mannagundi (folklore) and Aboobakar Baddur (Beary art).

Addressing media on March 7, Wednesday, Academy Chairman Karambaru Muhammed said  Umar U H (literature), Aziz Baikampadi (Beary art) and B M Hassainar (folklore) have also been selected for the award (2017).

The award function will be held at Raitha Bhavana, Mudigere, at 10 am on March 13.

District In-charge Minister B Ramanath Rai will inaugurate the function. Food and Civil Supplies Minister U T Khader and Urban Development and Haj Minister R Roshan Baig will present the awards.

The award comprises of a purse of Rs 50,000, a citation and a memento.

Women’s Day event

The Academy will observe International Women’s Day at Talent Research Foundation Hall in Kankanady on at 10 am on Thursday.

Karambar Muhammed will inaugurate the programme. Sessions will be held on various issues related to women. Journalists Seetalakshmi Karkikodi, Shahnaz M and Talent Research Foundation adviser Mumtaz Pakkalada will take part.

Women achievers Khairunnisa Syed, Mafaz Sarafuddin and Ayishat Rafiz will be felicitated on the occasion.

A multilingual poets’ symposium will be held later.

Academy Registrar B Chandrahas Rai, members Bashir Baikampadi, Arif Padubidri, Hasanabba and others were present in the press meet.