mangalore today

Kasargod vote bank wooed by BJP for change

Mangalore Today News Network

Kasaragod, May 13, 2016: Reports indicate that Kasargod so far has been a secure vote bank for the  IUML, Indian Union Muslim League in the last four decades and BJP and LDF haven’t been able to surmount the Muslim League in previous elections.

bjpThough now it is a triangular contest in Kasargod, a tough fight will be witnessed between the Muslim League and the BJP.

Left parties in Kasargod have not opposed the Kerala government’s new regulation, which makes it compulsory for Kannadigas to learn Malayalam language and to opt for it while attempting UPSC examinations. The parties have not mentioned this in the manifestos. Hence, there is a possibility of erosion in Kannadiga votes of the LDF and the Muslim League.

MLA N A Nellikunnu has filed his nomination from the Muslim League. Door-to-door campaign is being carried out by the party workers. Nellikunnu has a clean image, but his constituency has unfulfilled works such as the drinking water project in the City Municipal Council limits and the four gram panchayats of the neighbourhood, has been a reason for disappointment to many.

Kuntaru Ravish Tantri from the BJP, a new face in the electoral battle, has a fair reputation,  the new party BDJS becoming a part of the NDA, Tantri is expected to draw more votes.

Dr A A Amin is the candidate from Indian National League, the ally of the Left parties. The seat is said to have been rejected by several INL leaders and Amin’s candidature was finally locked. Left parties have been organising public programmes to woo people.  Muslim league holds a record here.  The Muslim League has been winning the Assembly elections in Kasargod for the last 4 decades.

T A Ibrahim from the Muslim League emerged as a winner with a thumping majority in 1977. From 1982 to 2006, C T Ahmed Ali was MLA. Ibrahim’s tenure as MLA for 25 years, winning from 1982 to 2001 has been a record in Kasargod.

The current voters’ list says Kasargod Assembly has 1,88,770 voters - 94,140 men and 94,630 women. The Assembly has a total of 1,88,906 votes - 78 NRI votes and 58 ex-servicemen.