mangalore today

Election results of APMC Mangaluru taluk announced

Mangalore Today News Network

Mangaluru, Jan 14, 2017 :  Elections were held to 12 of the 14 constituencies on Thursday and candidates to two constituencies - namely cooperative institutions from APMC region and processing cooperative institutions from APMC regions involved in sales and business activities - were elected unopposed, A C Renuka Prasad, assistant commissioner and election officer stated.


election 14 jan

Results of closely contested Agriculture Produce Marketing Committee (APMC) of Mangaluru taluk were announced on January 14, Saturday.

The winners are Joel D’Souza from Mulki - 1, Pramod Kumar from Mulki - 2, Chandrahas Sanil from Kallamundkuru, K Krishnaraj Hegde from Putthige, Sheena from Moodbidri, Praveen Kumar S from Shirthady, Rajani Dugganna from Surathkal, Rukmayya Naik from Yedapadavu, Vani R Shetty from Vamajoor, Bharathesh Amin from Mangaluru, Muttu N Shetty from Kotekar and B Raghav Shetty from traders constituency from APMC regions.

Purushottam Shetty and B Thimappa Shetty are the candidates who were elected unopposed from above mentioned constituencies. Incidentally, the elections in Mangaluru taluk saw lukewarm response from the electorate with only 36.22% of the 32,968 voters including 20,875 men exercising their franchise. In Bantwal, the voter turnout was 44.85% and in Belthangady 41.14%. The district as a whole recorded a voting percentage of 40.74 for the three taluks.