mangalore today

DK to have 1790 polling booths for May elections

Mangalore Today News Network

Mangaluru, Apr 02, 2018 : Dakshina Kannada has 8 legislative assembly constituencies which will altogether have 1790 polling booths for this time’s legislative assembly elections.

poll 2apr

The highest number of polling booths will be in Bantwal constituency (246) and the lowest number of polling booths will be in Mangaluru Ullal Constituency (200). The remaining number of polling booths are divided as follows, Belthangady 241, Moodbidri 209, Mangaluru North 229, Mangaluru South 220, Puttur 217 and Sullia has 228 polling booths.

In the district there are 44 polling booths spread in the city and town areas that will host more than 1,400 voters. Mangaluru South has such 18 polling booths while Mangaluru North has 15.

In the village regions there are 27 polling booths that have more than 1,300 voters of which Moodbidri has 10 such polling booths and Mangaluru constituency has 8.

For the safe, secure and convenient functioning of the election various groups have been created per constituency. Check posts have been installed at prominent places in the district. 51 (SST) groups have been created and deployed along the inter-state borders to maintain vigil and carry out inspections. 44 flying squads have been created.