mangalore today

Congress split for choice Mayoral poll candidates

Mangalore Today News Network

Mangaluru, Feb 05, 2018: With a month remaining for Mangaluru Mayoral elections, the Congress in Mangaluru City Corporation council has many choices in the selection of candidates for the offices of Mayor and Deputy Mayor as both the posts have been reserved for general category councillors.



The term of incumbent Mayor Kavita Sanil and Deputy Mayor Rajaneesh K. ends on March 8, 2018.

As the Congress has 35 councillors among 60 elected councillors, all its members are eligible to stake claim for the offices of Mayor and Deputy Mayor.

Sources in the Congress said that considering the coming Assembly election and next year’s Parliamentary election, the party would be careful in the selection of candidates, especially that of Mayor, to boost its image. The selection would be based on considering “seniority and majority”, a party leader said. The “senior” to be fielded should also be agreeable to a majority of Congress councillors. Like last year an election within the party is unlikely to be conducted this time for selecting the Mayoral candidate.

The post of incumbent Mayor had been reserved for a woman councillor from general category. As Ms. Sanil and Prathiba Kulai from Hosabettu ward were aspirants the party was forced to conduct an internal election as the councillors did not arrive at a consensus. Finally, Ms. Sanil was chosen to be fielded.

Sources said that Bhaskar K or Bhaskar Moily from Padavu East (ward no 36) who is a three-time councillor is the front runner for the post of Mayor. He is also a relation of senior Congress leader M. Veerappa Moily.

There is also a demand from Muslim community that a Muslim councillor should be made as the Mayor as in the present five-year term of the council no Muslim candidate has been made the Mayor. If this demand is considered then K. Mohammed from Kunjathbail North (ward no 13) would be the front runner.

Sources said that the party is unlikely to field any first time councillor for the office of Mayor. So far the party has not met for selecting the candidates. A clarity would emerge only in the first week of March, sources said.

The BJP has 20 councillors, the Janata Dal (Secular) two, the SDPI and the CPI (M) one each in the council. In addition, there is an independent councillor.

Courtesy: The hindu