mangalore today

BJP retains candidates in three coastal districts

Mangalore Today News Network

Mangaluru, Mar 22, 2019: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has decided to field incumbent MPs from the three coastal constituencies — Dakshina Kannada, Udupi-Chikkamagaluru and Uttara Kannada — in the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections.


The BJP’s list released in New Delhi comprises the names of Nalin Kumar Kateel, Shobha Karandlaje and Anantkumar Hegde, respectively, from the three constituencies. Though BJP State president B.S. Yeddyurappa had announced that MPs in office would be re-nominated by the party, there was speculation about all the three MPs getting ticket this time.

The list, however, belied the speculation. While there were no allegations against Mr. Kateel requiring change of candidate, Ms. Karandlaje was being accused of being away from the constituency. Mr. Hegde was accused of being away from the party cadre and creating his own support base.

While Satyajith Surathkal and Brijesh Chowta were said to be the strong contenders for party ticket in Dakshina Kannada, K. Jayaprakash Hegde and Yashpal Suvarna were aspirants from Udupi-Chikkamagaluru.

Courtesy:The hindu