mangalore today

BJP raises voice against governor’s move to dissolve government

Mangalore Today News Network

Mangalore, May 17: The district unit of the BJP organized a protest in front of the DC’s office on May 17, Tuesday, opposing the governor’s move to dissolve the state government and bring in presidential rule.







Jayaram Shetty, the former MLA of Ullal, said in his protest speech that the BJP has won the election in 64 parts and even in 3 Vidhana Soudha elections and has won in the majority. He also warned the Congress that it will not be able to win over the people of Karnataka simply by attempting to sully the reputation of the BJP with negative publicity. Stating that the governor had visited Delhi to submit the order even before the verdict, he said that the governor is acting on the behest of AICC President Sonia Gandhi and Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, who are eager to topple the first BJP-led government in the south.

He accused the governor of sanctioning prosecution earlier and now recommending presidential rule at the special request of the Congress party just to divert attention from the mammoth 2G scam and other scams at the centre. He urged the governor to allow the state government to rule peacefully for 2 more years.

Speaking on the occasion, B. Nagaraj Shetty, the chairman of the Coastal Development Authority, said that the benefits of the development projects launched by the BJP have reached people at the lowest rungs of the social ladder.

Monappa Bhandary, the former president of the BJP’s district unit, said that Bharadwaj is a shame for the entire country and accused the governor of indulging in unconstitutional acts.

MLA A. Rukmayya Poojary said that the BJP-led state government is the only government to have launched so many developmental projects. Stating that previous governments used to sanction Rs. 18 crore to the state, he said that the BJP government has sanctioned Rs. 85 crore in the budget and has released Rs. 200 crore to the MCC in two phases for various infrastructure development activities.

Padmanabha Kottari, the president of the BJP’s district unit; Shrikar Prabhu, the president of BJP’s Mangalore unit; Francis Monteiro; K. T. Shailaja Bhat, the president of the ZP; and many others were also present.