mangalore today
Tuesday, April 07


ZP Polls : 116 candidates in fray in Dakshina Kannada

ZP Polls : 116 candidates in fray in Dakshina Kannada

Mangalore Today News Network

Mangaluru, Feb 12, 2016 : A total of 116 candidates are in the fray in the 36 constituencies of the Dakshina Kannada Zilla Panchayat which would go to the polls on February 20.

As many as 361 candidates are contesting from the 136 constituencies in five taluk panchayats of the district.

election On February 11, Thursday being the last day for withdrawing nominations a total of 68 nominations filed for the ZP polls and 163 nominations filed for the Taluk Panchayat elections, were withdrawn.

The Congress and BJP have field their candidates in all 36 constituencies of the Zilla Panchayat, while the JD(S) is contesting in 11, CPI(M) in  7, Janata Dal in 2, SDPI in 3 and BSP in 1 constituency. There are a total of 19 independent candidates in fray.

Of the total 361 candidates contesting the  Taluk Panchayat elections, 115 are from Mangaluru Taluk Panchayat, 92 from Bantwal, 71 from Belthangady, 54 from Puttur  and 29 from Sullia.

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above