mangalore today
Thursday, October 01
Abish Buildersnamename


Spl squads for check on malpractices at June 8, MLC polls: DK DC

Spl squads for check on malpractices at June 8, MLC polls: DK DC

Mangalore Today News Network

Mangaluru, June 06, 2018: DK DC  Sasikanth Senthil said that special teams have been constituted to check any kind of malpractices during the South-West Graduates’ and Teachers’ constituency polling on June 8.



Speaking to media on June 5, Tuesday, he said the candidates cannot engage in publicity near the polling booths during the election. The voters’ list has been uploaded in, wherein the voters can check the details about the polling booth. An informative SMS will be sent to the teacher voters, giving out details about the polling booths.

He said that while casting their preferential votes during the South West Graduate and Teachers Constituency election, voters must uniformly use numbers either in Kannada, English or Roman numerals.

Voters have to rank the candidates in order of their preference with purple colour sketch pens provided at the polling booth. “If they use numbers of various languages to indicate their preference, the vote will be considered invalid,” the DC added.

There are 15,494 graduate voters in the district, of whom, 7,223 are male and 8,271 are female voters. The total number of teacher voters in the district is 7,140, of which 2,944 are male voters and 4,196 are female voters.
The NOTA option is also available in the ballot paper for the voters.

There are eight candidates in the fray for the graduate’s constituency. They are Arun Kumar (JDS), Ayanooru Manjunath (BJP), S P Dinesh (Congress), J C Patel (Sarva Janata Party), Jafarulla Sathar Khan, G M Jayakumar, Prabhulinga B R and B K Manjunath (Independents).

There are 12 candidates in the teachers constituency. They are Capt Ganesh Karnik (BJP), S L Bhoje Gowda (JDS), K K Manjunath Kumar (Congress), Arun Hosakoppa, Aloysius D’Souza, K B Chandroji Rao, D K Tulasappa, Ampara Nityananda Shetty, Prabhulinga B R, Basavarajappa K C , M Ramesh and Rajendrakumar K P (Independents).

Polling booths  :  The DC said that there are 23 polling booths for graduates constituency and 14 for teachers constituency.

The polling booths for graduates’ constituency are: Mulki Town Panchayat office; Moodbidri TMC office (east wing and west wing); Govinda Dasa College (Room Number 101 and 102); Bajpe Panchayat office; Gurpura PU College; University College (commerce section room number 33, room no 34, 35, 36); Vishwamangala English Medium School, University campus, Konaje; DK ZP Higher Primary School, Babbukatte; Mini Vidhana Soudha Taluk office; B C Road (Room number 1, 2); Belthangady Taluk office (meeting hall, revenue inspector office); Puttur TP office (SGSY hall, BMC office); Sullia taluk office; Nadakacheri, Panja.

The polling booths for the teachers’ constituency are — Mulki Town Panchayat; Moodbidri TMC; Govindadasa College; Bajpe panchayat, old building meeting hall; Government PU College, Gurpura; University College (room number 7, 8); Vishwamangala English Medium School (south wing); DK ZP School, Babbukatte (North wing); Samarthya Soudha, TP building, B C Road; Taluk office, Belthangady (old meeting hall); Taluk panchayat, Puttur (Samarthya Soudha); Taluk office, Sullia (West wing); and Nadakacherri Panja (North wing).

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above