mangalore today
Tuesday, September 17


MLC elections to graduates’ and teachers’ seats on June 8

MLC elections to graduates’ and teachers’ seats on June 8

Mangalore Today News Network

Bengaluru, May 13, 2018 (TNN): After assembly polls, biennial elections to three teachers’ and three graduates’ constituencies to the legislative council will be held on June 8.

MLC poll 2018As per the poll schedule issued by the Election Commission, a notification will be issued on May 15, the counting day for assembly polls. Last date of filing of papers will be May 22 and scrutiny will be held on May 23. The last date of withdrawal is May 25.

Polling will take place from 8am to 4pm on June 8 while the votes will be counted on June 12.

The code of conduct will come into force with immediate effect in the districts where the constituencies are located, a release issued by the poll panel said.

The six sitting members, who will retire on June 21 paving the way for the elections, are Ramesh Babu (southeast teachers) Marithibbe Gowda (south teachers), Capt Ganesh Karnik (southwest teachers) D H Shankara Murthy (southwest graduates), Ramachandra Gowda (Bangalore graduates) and Amarnath Patil (northeast graduates). The parties are expected to declare the candidates soon after the results for assembly polls are announced.

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above