mangalore today
Wednesday, February 20


Konkani Sahitya Academy Award presentation ceremony on Jan 18

Konkani Sahitya Academy Award presentation ceremony on Jan 18

Mangalore Today News Network

 Mangaluru, Jan 12, 2015 :  The Karnataka Konkani Sahitya Academy Award presentation  ceremony will be held at  Samsa Bayalu Ranga Mandira  in Bengaluru on January 18. Chief Minister Siddaramaiah will present the awards to outstanding Konkani personalities on the occasion.



Konkani Sahitya Academy Award 1

The winners of Honorary Awards of the Academy are Padma Shenoy (literature), Gajanana Mahale (folklore) and Koni Sheshagiri Nayak (art). The Academy Book Awards will be presented to  Naveen Kurmbil (collection of short stories), Nageshkumar G Rao (poems), and G V Carlo (translation). Youth awards will go to Ashwin M Prabhu (music), Prajwal M Nayak (Yoga), and Arun Nayak (artiste).

Informing this to reporters here on January 12, Monday, Roy Castelino,  President of the Academy said   three new books including a collection of stories by Valli Vagga named “Khaandi Kuris”  a translated work ‘Santhakavi  Kanakadas’ by Geetha Shenoy and ‘Thaswinth’ by Wilson Kateel and Wilson Kayyar will be released on the occasion.

 State Ministers Ramalinga Reddy, RV Deshpande, Umashree, BBMP Mayor Shanthakumari, JR Lobo, MLA of Mangaluru South, Ivan D’Souza, MLC and others will grace the occasion.

 A variety of Konkani cultural programmes will be held on the eve of the Award presentation ceremony i.e on January 17, Castelino informed.

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above