mangalore today
Tuesday, September 17


In DK, 336 officials to count votes of 8 constituencies, high hopes at noon

In DK, 336 officials to count votes of 8 constituencies, high hopes at noon

Mangalore Today News Network

Mangaluru, May 15, 2018: The Election Commission is all set with 336 counting officials on its rolls to count votes of Belthangady, Moodbidri, Mangaluru City North, Mangaluru City South, Mangaluru, Bantwal, Puttur and Sullia constituencies at Mahatma Gandhi Centenary Higher Primary School and Mahatma Gandhi Centenary Composite PU College at Bondel, today May 15, Tuesday.   Results of 58 candidates contesting in eight assembly segments of Dakshina Kannada district will be decided. 

Congress and the BJP hope to win in all the eight constituencies, the results will have a far-reaching impact for both the national parties in the forthcoming Lok Sabha polls in 2019.

DK DC S Sasikanth Senthil said the process will begin with the counting of postal ballots.  Postal ballots have been sent to 380 service voters and 11,401 government employees. Soon after the counting of postal ballots, EVMs will be brought to the counting halls. Two halls each have been arranged for counting of votes for Belthangady, Moodbidri, Mangaluru City North, Mangaluru, Bantwal and Puttur.

Votes of Mangaluru City South and Sullia will be counted in two separate halls. Each constituency will have 14 tables to count votes and candidates may depute 15 counting agents to monitor the process by submitting Form 18. The whole process of counting will be recorded through CCTV cameras and webcasting facility also has been installed, the DC  said.

After the counting of votes polled in EVMs, one VVPAT machine each from eight constituencies will be picked by drawing lots. The votes polled in the VVPAT will be tallied with that of EVMS. Later, the result will be announced after the certificate is signed by the observers and returning officers of the respective constituencies, he said.

While there are 17,11,848 voters in eight assembly segments of Dakshina Kannada district, 13,29,569 have exercised their franchise recording 77.67% polling. While Sullia constituency has recorded highest turnout with 83.98%, Mangaluru City South registered lowest in the district with 67.46%.

No Vijayotsava  :  DK  DC has warned of strict action against political parties and workers if they are found holding any victory celebration.  Prohibitory orders under Section 144 will be in place in the district from midnight of Monday to 8pm on Wednesday. Hence, people are not allowed to gather in large number and hold victory procession. Similarly, dry days have been declared from 6pm on Monday to midnight of Tuesday.

Traffic  :  The road in front of the counting centre in Bondel has been declared ‘no traffic zone’ from 6am today,  May 15,  Tuesday. Entry and parking of vehicles have been prohibited on KHB Road and Gundu Rao Lane.

Vehicles from Mangaluru International Airport (MIA) will have to take Kuntikana route to reach the city. Vehicles from Karnataka Polytechnic (KPT) to MIA will have to take a left diversion via Gundu Rao Lane. To avoid traffic congestion, those who are travelling to MIA are also requested to take Kuntikana-Kavoor or Kuloor-Kavoor routes, said city police commissioner Vipul Kumar.

Parking places have been identified at KHB Ground, NMS Ground and MG College Ground. Vehicles from KPT junction may be parked at KHB Ground and those coming from Kavoor may park their vehicles at NMS Ground. All government vehicles will be allowed to park inside MG College ground.

Traffic diversion today  :  City Police Commissioner Vipul Kumar has prohibited the movement of vehicular traffic in front of the counting centre at Bondel.

He said that a ‘no-traffic’ zone will be created on the stretch from KPT to Bondel junction till counting is complete. The Commissioner said that entry of all kinds of vehicles from KGB Road and Gundurao Lane has been prohibited. Further, vehicles cannot be parked on either side of the road. All vehicles coming from Mangaluru International Airport should pass from Kavoor Junction to Kuntikana-Kuloor.

Vehicles travelling from KPT to Bondel and Kavoor junction should take a left near Daijiworld building.

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above