mangalore today
Monday, July 13


Drinking water project on priority: MLA Jain

Drinking water project on priority: MLA Jain

Mangalore Today News Network

Moodbidri, Feb 13, 2018: Moodbidri MLA K Abhayachandra Jain directed the officials concerned to carry out work related to drinking water on a priority basis.

MLA Jain

Chairing the tri-monthly KDP meet in Mangaluru Taluk Panchayat on Feb 12,  Monday, he said that there is a demand for drinking water from people in rural areas and therefore, the officials should ensure that water scarcity is not experienced during peak summer. "The provisions under task force should be effectively utilised to ensure the supply of drinking water," he said.

Taluk food officer said that 995 beneficiaries have been selected in the taluk level for the provision of free LPG connections in the taluk under Anila Bhagya scheme. Panchayats have been asked to inform the fair price shop vigilance committee members on the same. Also, training has been provided to the gram panchayat staff.

MLA Abhayachandra Jain told the officials to formally invite the members of the legislative assembly of the respective area, to the function meant for distributing the benefits to the people. “Anila Bhagya is an ambitious programme by the state government”, the MLA said.

Revenue officer said that out of the 2,690 applications seeking regularisation of land under 94 C, 916 have been sanctioned and intimation has been given to the beneficiaries to deposit the prescribed amount. As many as 366 title deeds are ready for issue and 98 have been issued.  The MLA expressed his discomfiture over the delayed progress in the issue of title deeds.

Mangaluru North BEO Manjula said that the teachers in Rastriya Madhyamika Shiksha Abhiyan (RMSA) schools in Sadashivanagara, Mulki and Mullakadu have not received their salaries for the last four months following shortage of funds. Also, the salary of establishment staff at the Block Education Office is delayed.

Mangaluru South Block Education Office manager Poornima Shetty said that the same problem existed in RMSA schools in Amblamogaru and Kumpala.

Taluk panchayat president Muhammed Monu, vice president Poornima Ganesh, standing committee president Reeta Noronha, nominated members Vasudeva C Nayak, G Muhammed Unhi and executive officer G Sadananda were present.

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above