mangalore today
Friday, May 29


Counting of votes in DK : All eyes on tomorrow, May 23

Counting of votes in DK : All eyes on tomorrow, May 23

Mangalore Today News Network

Mangaluru, May 22, 2019: Addressing media in the city on May 21, Tuesday.  City Police Commissioner Sandeep Patil said security at NITK, Surathkal, has been strengthened for counting of Lok Sabha election votes on May 23, Thursday.




“Five KSRP platoons, 12 CAR platoons, 2 DCPs, 6 ACPs, 17 police inspectors, 48 PSIs, 66 ASIs, 112 head constables, and 224 constables will be deployed for security around the counting venue . This will be in addition to the CAPF personnel,” he added.

To manage traffic, 1 ACP, 4 police inspectors, 2 PSIs, 31 ASIs, 61 head constables and 99 constables will be deployed, Patil said.

14 counting tables :  DK DC  Sasikanth Senthil has said that all arrangements have been made for the counting.

He said that 14 counting tables are placed inside the counting hall. For each table, there is one counting supervisor, one counting assistant and one micro observer.

“Sufficient Group-D staff have also been deployed. A total of 560 polling officials will be deployed for counting. For postal ballot counting, four tables have been arranged. The QR code of Electronically Transmitted Postal Ballot System (ETPBS) will be scanned before counting it. After the completion of the counting of votes recorded in EVMs, the verification of VVPAT paper slips randomly selected five polling stations in each Assembly constituency will be taken in the presence of candidates, agents and general observers for counting,” said DC.Senthil.

He said that mobile phones, I-pads, laptops and other electronic devices that can record audio or video clippings will not be allowed inside the counting centre.

Dry days :   The district administration has declared a dry spell from 5 pm of May 22 till midnight of  May 23.

“Prohibitory order under Section 144 has been imposed from 6 pm of May 22 to 6 pm of May 24 in Dakshina Kannada. Conducting processions, public or political meetings is prohibited during the period. Carrying arms and explosives is also prohibited. Use of crackers is not allowed,” he said.

The counting rounds vary from 15 to 18, depending on the assembly constituencies in Dakshina Kannada.After the final round of counting, the VVPAT paper slips will be matched with the EVMs, said the officer. The results are available on for general public.

Traffic diversion  :  Buses will be allowed as usual to use the NH 66, but without any stop near the NITK.  This is to prevent unauthorised persons from gathering near the NITK, City Police Commissioner Sandeep Patil has said. “Traffic diversion will be in force on the highway from 7 am till the conclusion of counting. All heavy goods vehicles from Mangaluru will be asked to travel on the Kavoor Junction – Bajpe – Kateel – Moorukaveri – Kinnigoli – Mulki route and head towards Udupi. All two-wheelers and light vehicles from Surathkal to Udupi will have to travel on the Tadambail Cross – NITK Light House – Red Rock Cross – Mukka and move further on the highway,” he said.

“All light vehicles and two-wheelers from Udupi to Mangaluru should take a left turn at Chelyaru Cross and reach Madhya Circle – Munchoor Circle to join the NH 66. The movement of vehicles on the service roads between Tadambail Cross and Red Rock Cross, and between Munchoor Cross and NITK is banne

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above