mangalore today
Thursday, January 21
Abish Buildersnamename


Ashok Lobo, Reny D’Silva winners in Trek Mangaluru Challenge 2017

Ashok Lobo, Reny D’Silva winners in Trek Mangaluru Challenge 2017

Mangalore Today News Network

Mangaluru, July 25, 2017: It is locally reported that Ashok Lobo, who cycled 2,581 km in 14 days between May 15 and May 28, emerged the winner in Trek Mangaluru Challenge 2017, followed by Kishan Bangera (2,406 km), and Ankith Shetty (2,319 km) in the men’s category.


Ranked first in the women’s category,is Reny D’Silva, who clocked 1,432 km, was  followed by Madhura Jain (1,110 km), and Sunitha Mendes (1,074 km).

The winners as well as qualifiers were felicitated at a programme attended by more than 60 enthusiastic cyclists of Mangaluru at Jyoti Cycle and Fitness, Kadri, which hosted the challenge in association with Trek and Firefox Bikes here on Sunday.

Encouraged by the response to Trek Mangaluru Challenge 2015, Jyoti Cycle rolled out the second edition this May to encourage and appreciate people who ride bicycle regularly in Mangaluru. The winning criterion was purely distance covered, tracked by fitness App Strava.

While 50 riders registered for the challenge, 39 of them qualified by clocking a minimum distance of 150 km. Of them, 15 qualified to get Trek and Jyoti Cycle co-branded jerseys ranked on total distance covered, stated a release from Jyoti Cycle.

Badrinath Nayak, Managing Partner of Jyoti Cycle Company, presented the trophy, certificates and jerseys to winners in men’s category while Rayappa Nayak, Chartered Accountant and a member of Jyoti Cycle family, felicitated winners from the women’s category.

The 15 riders who got jerseys included, Shawn Patrao, Shyamprasad Nayak, Harivijay Kudva, D. Drushya, Srikantharaja Raja, Achinthya Rao, Rajesh Hukkeri, B. Hari Prasad, Dony Menezes, Keerthan Revankar, Danny Simon, Hariprasad Shevire, Sunil Mendes, Nishmith Shriyan, and Harniish Raj.

Eighteen qualifiers, Vernon Saldanha, P.V. Ramesh Babu, Arun Kumar, Anil Shet, S.M. Madhukar, Irfan Sheikh, Sarvesha Samaga, Maxim Menezes, Vinay Rayker, Kashinath Pai, Gopal Rao, P.N. Ramraj, Bunty Raj, Shivaprasad Pavoor, Dijaraj Nair, Mukesh Rao, Zahir Manipady and Ashwitha Karkera, were presented certificates.

Jyoti Cycles Managing Partner Ganesh Nayak said participants have raised benchmarks of cycling in Mangaluru and hoped they would continue to inspire many cyclists.

Write Comment | E-Mail | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Comments on this Article
Jayanthi Prabhu, manglore Tue, July-25-2017, 12:46
Congratulations to the winners of the Trek Mangaluru. Practicemakes a man perfect
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above