mangalore today
Thursday, September 19


K’taka Lok Sabha election results 2019 live updates: LFD leading on four seats in early trends

K’taka Lok Sabha election results 2019 live updates: LFD leading on four seats in early trends

Mangalore Today News Network

Bengaluru, May 23, 2019 : The counting of votes for 28 Lok Sabha seats is Karnataka along with other 514 seats, spread across 29 states and seven union territories, began at 8 am on Thursday, Zeenews reported.



The main contest in the state is between the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Congress-Janata Dal (Secular) alliance. However, the exit polls which were released on May 19 after the voting for the seventh and final phase was concluded predicted that the BJP will come to power in the state with majority.

Live Updates:

# BJP’s D.V. Sadananda Gowda is leading with 1,977 votes from Bangalore North against Congress’ Krishna Byregowda.

# Lok Sabha Election result 2019: The Left Democratic Front (LFD) is leading on four seats in Kerala while the Congress-Janata Dal (Secular) alliance is currently leading from three seats.

# Lok Sabha Election result 2019: BJP candidate Y. Devendrappa is leading from Bellary constituency against V. S. Ugrappa of Congress.

# Lok Sabha Election result 2019: BJP’s Umesh Jadhav, who is contesting against Congress’ Mallikarjun Kharge from Kalaburagi in Karnataka, is confident about Narendra Modi becoming the Prime Minister once again.

# Lok Sabha Election result 2019: The counting of votes begins at counting centre in Mount Carmel College.

# Lok Sabha Election result 2019: JD(S) Mandya candidate and Karnataka Chief minister H. D. Kumaraswamy’s son  Nikhil Kumaraswamy offers prayers at Chamundeshwari Temple in Mysore.

# Lok Sabha Election result 2019: The counting of votes is all set to begin at 8 am.

While election trends will start pouring in within a few minutes, the final result can be delayed by up to five hours this time around after the Supreme Court instructed the Election Commission of India (ECI) to also consider the Voter Verified Paper Audit Trail (VVPAT) slips tally.

The VVPAT slips of at least five EVMs per assembly segment in a Lok Sabha constituency will be counted and the tallying of votes will take place only after the last round of counting.

Key Candidates

Former prime minister and JD-S supremo HD Deve Gowda, Kumaraswamy’s son Nikhil who contested from Mandya constituency, Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge, DV Sadananda Gowda (BJP), Shobha Karandlaje (BJP), Tejasvi Surya (BJP),  state Agriculture Minister Krishna Byre Gowda are among the prominent faces from the state this election.

The Lok Sabha seats in Karnataka are Bangalore Central, Bangalore North, Bangalore Rural, Chamarajanagar, Chikballapur, Chitradurga, Dakshina Kannada, Hassan, Kolar, Mandya, Mysore, Tumkur, Udupi Chikmagalur, Bangalore South, Bagalkot, Belagavi, Bellary, Bidar, Bijapur, Chikkodi, Davanagere, Dharwad, Haveri, Gulbarga, Koppal, Raichur, Shimoga and Uttara Kannada.

It will be interesting to see whether the actual results will match the exit polls or the situation will exactly be the other way round.

Write Comment | E-Mail To a Friend | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above