mangalore today
Thursday, February 21


3 Idiots Bags 6 Filmfare Awards, Big B, Vidya Best Actors

3 Idiots Bags 6 Filmfare Awards, Big B, Vidya Best Actors

Mumbai, Feb.28: Megastar Amitabh Bachchan and Vidya Balan bagged the Best Actor and Actress award for their performances in ’Paa’ while ’3Idiots’ scooped six trophies including best film at the 55th Filmfare awards.  


The year 2009’s biggest blockbuster ’3Idiots’ won best director award for Rajkumar Hirani, who also picked up the best story trophy with Abhijat Joshi at the ceremony held here on Saturday.  

Hirani also won best Screenplay Award with Vidhu Vinod Chopra for the Aamir Khan starrer. The duo also bagged the Best Dialogue Award for the film.  Bachchan and his family skipped awards function to protest against a news report about Aishwarya Rai’s health in a tabloid owned by the same publication as Filmfare last week.  



The Bachchans have sent a legal notice to the paper asking for retraction and apology. In Big B’s absence, Vidya collected Bachchan’s best actor award.  Veteran actor Shashi Kapoor and noted music composer Khayyam were honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award.  

Boman Irani and Kalki Koechlin won the Best Supporting Actor and Actress for ’3 Idiots’ and ’Dev D’ respectively.  Among the popular category, Oscar-winning music composer, A R Rahman, won the best music award for ’Delhi-6’, making it the 25th black lady on his award-shelf.  ’Aaj Din Chaddya...’ from ’Love Aaj Kal’ fetched Irshad Kamil the Best Lyrics award. 

In the Critics’ Awards category, Nandita Das won the best director trophy for ’Firaaq’ while Ranbir Kapoor and Mahie Gill bagged the best actor and actress award for their performances in ’Wake Up Sid’ and ’Dev D’ respectively.  Best playback singer (Female) was shared by Rekha Bharadwaj for ’Genda Phool...’ from ’Delhi 6’ and Kavita Seth for her soulful rendition of ’Iktara...’ from ’Wake Up Sid’. 

Mohit Chauhan bagged the best playback singer (Male) award for peppy number ’Masakalli...’ from ’Delhi 6’  Among the technical awards, Sreekar Prasad received award for best editing for ’Firaaq’ while best cinematography trophy was held by Rajeev Ravi for ’Dev D’.  Best visual effects award was bagged by Govardhan Vigharan and Vinay Singh Chuphal for ’Kaminey’ and best production and art direction went to Helen Jones for ’Dev D’.  

Best choreography award went to Bosco-Ceasar, for ’Chor Bazaari’ from ’Love Aaj Kal’, best action to Vijayan Master for ’Wanted’ and best sound design to Manas Chaudhury for ’Firaaq’.  While best costume design award went to Vaishali Menon for ’Firaaq’, best background score went to Amit Trivedi for ’Dev D’. 


Trivedi also bagged the R D Burman Music Award for new musical talent.  The best debut award was shared by Zoya Akhtar for ’Luck By Chance’ and Ayan Mukherji for ’Wake Up Sid’.  The award function was hosted by Karan Johar, Shah Rukh Khan and Saif Ali Khan.

Write Comment | E-Mail To a Friend | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Comments on this Article
Ruchitha B, Mangalore Sun, February-28-2010, 8:55
Ha !!!3 idiots has been the best film i have ever watched and i think ever1 reading this will surely agree. It has totally entertained al o us witout fail and i hope aamir khan makes many more such movies. Cheers to the team of 3 idiots
Harsha, Udupi Sun, February-28-2010, 8:52
I think the most deserving Actors and films have won the awards!Cheers!
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above