mangalore today

Kerala by-polls: Congress wins all

Mangalore Today News Network 2009-11-10 01:15:00

Kerala by pollsKerala, Nov 10: In a major boost to the Congress, which is already on a high after the recent victories in state elections, the party won all the three Assembly seats in Kerala. The Congress-led UDF won in Alappuzha, Ernakulam and Kannur assembly seats where bypolls were held, routing the ruling CPM-led LDF

In Alapphuza, A A Shukur defeated G Krishnaprasad of the Communist Party of India by 5000 votes. Congress candidate in Kannur, A P Abdulla Kutty won by 12000 votes defeating M V Jayarajan of ruling CPIM. In Ernakulum, Dominic Presentation won the Ernakulam seat by defeating his nearest rival P N Seenulal by 8000 votes.