mangalore today
Tuesday, March 31


Bahrain: GSS Billawas winners of Indian Expat Softball Cricket Tournament

Bahrain: GSS Billawas winners of Indian Expat Softball Cricket Tournament

Mangalore Today News Network

Bahrain,  May 23, 2012: GSS Billawas staged a spectacular victory in the final match of 7-a-Side Indian Expat Softball Cricket Tournament organised by Indian Club and sponsored by Indian Club and Eastern on May 17, 2012. Co – Sponsors of the tournament were  Bahrain Financing Company, Aqua Cool, World Exchange, Arcal, Tally, Well-Flow Gulf Trading, Cold Stone.

gss b

After the elimination matches, teams qualified for  Semi Finals from Super 12 league were : Chak De India, Standard Chartered Bank, G S S Billawas and Papillon.

 The first semi final was played between Chak De India and Standard Chartered Bank. Standard Chartered Bank won the toss and elected to field. Batting first Chak De India scored 39 runs for the loss of 5 wkts in 6 over’s. SCB restricted Chak De till 5 over’s giving just 22 runs taking 3 wkts. But the last over was disaster for SCB while the Chak De scored massive 17 runs in the final over bowled by Hardip ending the total on 39 runs. Sameer and Biju from Chak De both hit for six each in the last over. Nissad & Sameer top scored with 10 runs for Chak De. In reply SCB managed to score only 28 runs for the loss of 1 wkt in 6 over’s. Vasant top scored with 11 runs for SCB. Chak De won the match by 11 runs.
The second semi final was between Papillon and GSS Billawas. Papillon won the toss and elected to field. Batting first G S S Billawas scored 48 runs for the loss of 5 wkts in 6 over’s. Captain Charan from GSS played solid knock of 18 runs well supported by Daya scoring 10 runs helped them to put massive total of 48 on board against Papillon. Charan top scored with 18 runs for GSS. In reply Papillon were all out for 35 runs in 5.5 over’s. Khaja top scored with 9 runs for Papillon. GSS won the match by 13 runs.

The penultimate final match was played between GSS Billawas and Chak De India. Chak De India won the toss and elected to field.Batting first G S S scored 41 runs for the loss of 2 wkts in 6 over’s. Daya top scored with 16 runs for GS S hitting 1*6 & 1*4. Sunil and Daya played solid knocks with 13 & 16 respectively to put 41 runs on board for GSS. In reply chasing the target of 42 runs Chak De were all out for 29 runs in 5.2 over’s. Charan was the man who took 2 wkts in 5th over giving just 2 runs which entirely turned the match towards GSS. GSS won the match by 12 runs.

 Man of the Final Match – Daya was declared man of final for top scoring with 16 runs and taking 1 wicket.

 Best Bowler – Sameer from Chak De India was awarded Best bowler of the series taking 13 wkts int he tournament.

 Best Batsman – Vasant Salian from SCB was awarded Best Batsmen for his highest runs in the tournament of 124 runs.

 Man of the Series – Vishwas Subramanyna was awarded Man of the series for his excellent batting and bowling performances, scoring 109 runs & taking 8 wkts in the tournament.



Write Comment | E-Mail To a Friend   | Facebook | Twitter | Print
Write your Comments on this Article
Your Name
Native Place / Place of Residence
Your E-mail
Your Comment
You have characters left.
Security Validation
Enter the characters in the image above